Mother's Day Celebration

(John Mason) #1

Hey Charlotte Devs!

What would you guys think if we did an outdoor Slack IRL event? Would be cool to get together with friends and just have some fun outside. Was thinking we can all get together for some sunshine, music, food, and a fun sport of some kind.

Maybe an ultimate frisbee game?
Or soccer?
Volleyball?
Basketball?
Something else?

Maybe we can get together at Freedom Park on a weekend with good weather. :thinking:

What do you guys think? Anyone particularly savvy with any of these activities in Charlotte?

(Tyler Gordon) #2

I’m still fairly new to the Charlotte Devs group, but personally, I’d love a volleyball game. Granted, ultimate frisbee is great fun and easier in terms of “gear.”

Families welcome?

(John Mason) #3

Yes!!! It would be awesome if families are welcome. Don’t see any reason why not. I have wife + 2 kids myself.

Maybe once people have time to chime in we can start a poll on what activity we do.

(Justin Holt) #4

This is a good idea, I’d be in to bringing my grill/smoker setups to something. Weekends would be best so the family can come.

(John Mason) #5

holy cow @justinholtweb that sounds amazing!! You thinking BBQ? I’m hungry already. :smile:

Agreed on the weekend.

Maybe we can start a super simple potluck of some kind? That way people at the very least could bring drinks :thinking:

(John Mason) #6

So after talking with @cristinaveale, GDI will be teaming up with CLT Devs to throw this event! We can call it our “Programmers in the Park” event. :wink:

Let’s plan on a weekend in May so we have enough time to organize and plan. :+1:

@justinholtweb, we have sponsorship $$$ we can apply to this event. If you are willing to be the BBQ-man-with-the-plan, we can purchase :meat_on_bone: :hamburger:. Just lmk what you are thinking. Also, do you know of any parks that will allow you to bring in your smoker? Thinking Veterans Park, but not 100% sure. Open to suggestions!

(Justin Holt) #7